Country Name

Republic of India; Bharat Ganrajya

Government Type

Sovereign Socialist Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government.

Administrative Divisions

29 States and 7 Union Territories.


15th August 1947 (from British colonial rule)


The Constitution of India came into force on 26th January 1950.

Executive Branch

The President of India is the Head of the State, while the Prime Minister is the Head of the Government, and runs office with the support of the Council of Ministers who form the Cabinet.

Judicial Branch

The Supreme Court of India is the apex body of the Indian legal system, followed by other High Courts and subordinate Courts.

Last Elections

India held general elections to the 16th LokSabha in 2014 electing Members of Parliament for all 543 parliamentary constituencies.

Current Government

Formed by National democratic Alliance (NDA), a BhartiyaJanata Party-led coalition.

Head of State

President Ram Nath Kovind

Head of Government

Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi


Countries having a common border with India are Pakistan and Afghanistan to the north-west, China, Nepal and Bhutan to the north, Myanmar and Bangladesh to the east, Sri Lanka is separated from southernmost tip of India by a narrow channel of sea formed by the Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar.

More information can be obtained at following websites :

  1. http://indiainbusiness.nic.in/newdesign/index.php
  2. https://india.gov.in/